May 24 - 28, 2021
University of Missouri
Columbia, Missouri, US


Session Themes | Local Organizing Committee | International Program Committee | Contact Us

ISRR11 will bring together the global root research community to foster exchange and discuss new discoveries, developments, and challenges in root biology. The symposium will address root research across different scales from the molecular- to the ecosystem-level in agricultural and natural systems.

The symposium will also feature a unique collaboration with the rescheduled ROOTING2021 - 9th International Symposium on Root Development with a number of live-streamed joint plenary talks and sessions and other shared activities.

Proposed Session Themes
  • Root and root system development
  • Root phenotyping approaches spanning lab to field
  • Root stress biology
  • Food roots
  • The root-soil interface
  • Underground communication
  • Root-microbe interactions*
  • Water and nutrient relations*
  • Technologies to image root functions
  • Modelling of root and rhizosphere processes
  • Grafted root systems and intraplant communication*
  • Root Ecosystem Services/Perennial Root Systems
    *Indicates shared session with ROOTING2021
Local Organizing Committee
  • Bob Sharp, University of Missouri (Chair)
  • Felix Fritschi, University of Missouri (Chair, International Program Committee)
  • David Braun, University of Missouri
  • Vicki Bryan, University of Missouri
  • Rich Ferrieri, University of Missouri
  • Laura Greeley, University of Missouri (postdoctoral representative)
  • Ali Housh, University of Missouri (graduate student representative)
  • Allison Miller, St Louis University
  • Mel Oliver, University of Missouri
  • Gus Thies, University of Missouri/Donald Danforth Plant Science Center (graduate student representative)
  • Chris Topp, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
International Program Committee
  • Felix Fritschi (Chair, International Program Committee, University of Missouri, United States)
  • Bob Sharp (Chair, ISRR 11 Organizing Committee, University of Missouri, United States)
  • Dorte Dresboll (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Joseph Dubrovsky (National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico)
  • Jhonathan Ephrath (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)
  • Jitender Giri (National Institute of Plant Genome Research, India)
  • Michael Gomez Selvaraj (International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), Colombia)
  • Amelia Henry (International Rice Research Institute, Philippines)
  • John Kirkegaard (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, Australia)
  • Leon Kochian (University of Saskatchewan, Canada)
  • Hong Liao (Fujian Agriculture and Forestry University, China)
  • Melissa Mitchum (University of Georgia, United States)
  • Ihouma Okwuono (National Root Crop Research Institute, Nigeria)
  • Tiina Roose (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Diane Rowland (University of Florida, United States)
  • Emanuel Souza (University of Parana, Brazil)
  • Yusaku Uga (National Agriculture and Food Research Organization, Japan)
  • Doris Vetterlein (Helmholtz Center for Environmental Research, Germany)
  • Leslie Weston (Charles Sturt University, Australia)
Contact Us

ISRR logo